Home » Blog » Tripura Bypolls: TMC Makes Big Push With Abhishek Banerjee Visits

Tripura Bypolls: TMC Makes Big Push With Abhishek Banerjee Visits

Tripura Bypolls are the big semi-final before the 2023 Assembly elections. 23 candidates including CM Manik Sha, will battle it out for by-elections to four Assembly constituencies in Tripura – Surma, Agartala, Town Bardowali, and Jubarajnagar – on June 23.

Manik Saha, who replaced Biplab Deb as the CM last month, is going to face his first direct election from Town Bordowali. The Congress party has fielded its heavy-weight leader Asish Kumar Saha in the constituency and Left Front nominated Raghunath Sarkar.

The by-polls, results for which will be known on June 26, are a crucial one for the TMC (Trinamool Congress), which has been trying to expand its footprint in the Northeastern state. On June 14, senior party leader Abhishek Benerjee is set to hold a road show starting from Gandhinagar to GB Bazar and will be back in the state on June 20. West Bengal CM and TMC Supremo Mamata Benerjee is also expected to hold two meetings in the state ahead of the by-polls.

Altogether 1, 88,854 people are eligible to exercise their vote in the by-elections for the four seats. The by-polls have been necessitated because of the resignations of Roy Barman (Agartala) and Asish Saha (Town Bardowali), and the death of CPI(M) MLA Ramendra Chandra Debnath (Jubarajnagar). The Surma seat became vacant after the disqualification of BJP legislator Asish Das by the Assembly Speaker.