Home » Blog » Tripura: 22 Candidates in Fray for Bypolls to 4 Assembly Seats

Tripura: 22 Candidates in Fray for Bypolls to 4 Assembly Seats

At least 22 candidates, including Tripura CM Manik Saha, are in the fray for the upcoming by-elections to four assembly constituencies in the state, an Election Commission official said on Friday. Saha, a Rajya Sabha member, was appointed as the chief minister last month, replacing Biplab Kumar Deb. The by-polls to the four assembly segments – Surma, Agartala, Jubarajnagar, and Town Bardowali – will be held on June 23.

Saha is the BJP’s candidate for the Town Bordowali assembly seat, while the Congress fielded Asish Kumar Saha in the constituency, and the Left Front nominated candidate is Raghunath Sarkar. Congress nominated Sudip Roy Barman against BJP candidate Ashok Sinha and Left Front nominee Krishna Majumder in the Agartala seat.

Surma constituency is set to witness a fight among three candidates – BJP’s Swapna Das Paul, Anjan Das of Left Front, and Baburam Satnami of the Tipra Motha, a regional party.

The Jubarajnagar constituency, which is considered a Left bastion, will witness a fight between Sailendra Chandra Nath of the CPI (M) and BJP nominee Malina Debnath.

The TMC (Trinamool Congress), which aims at spreading its footprint in the Northeastern state, also fielded its candidates in all four constituencies.

The by-polls are necessitated due to the death of CPI(M) MLA Ramendra Chandra Debnath (Jubarajnagar) and the resignations of Asish Saha (Town Bardowali) and Roy Barman (Agartala). The Surma seat became vacant after the disqualification of BJP legislator Asish Das by the assembly speaker.